3 Key Reasons to Share Your Goals

I’m big on goal setting. I take it kind of seriously, the thing is I am a really methodical and organized person so the way I go about goal setting and action planning seems kind of intense (even to me). So let me preface this post by saying I don’t want to scare you off and there’s no way I would expect anyone else to set their goals in this manner. However I truly believe that if  do you set goals, action plans and start working on them/achieving them you will feel happier, healthier, more balanced, more driven, and generally more satisfied with life overall.

At the start of every year I make a spreadsheet with my current goals. Some short term, some medium term some long term. I keep the spreadsheet updated throughout the year with new goals, changes to old goals and comments on current goals. Also, I classify them into 4 main categories (which are pretty self explanatory);

HEALTH, DIET AND FITNESS

FINANCIAL AND CAREER

PERSONAL GROWTH AND DEVELOPMENT

GOALS I HAVE ACHIEVED

goals

I focus on each goal separately to create an action plan and establish any resources required to develop/achieve that goal. I then allocate a start date and a deadline (because “a goal without a deadline is just a dream”). I also add regular prompts into my calendar to track my progress and keep my goals in the front of my awareness. I build them into a table similar to the above and then finally (and listen up because this is the most important part):

I share my goals with my loved ones

 Reason 1 – Accountability

friends-jumping-against-sunset-kazi-sudipto-photographyI always find that I am a lot more driven when it comes to sticking to my word when I share my thoughts and intentions with someone rather than just myself.

Personally I never want to be put in a situation where a friend says to me “So how are you going with your half marathon training(or other goal)?” and having to counter with an awkward “uhh, ohh, umm, actually I haven’t been running at all” and if I do have to reply with the ever awkward “umms” and “ahhs” it usually gives me a pretty solid boot up the behind to get back on track.

Sharing your goals with people who care about you and vice versa will help to make you more accountable for achieving them.

Reason 2 – Understanding

PostTeaPartySometimes achieving our goals means making sacrifices and making decisions we wouldn’t normally make. It might mean passing on that cheeky beer at a work lunch, saying no thank you to sharing a dessert, or missing out on a big night out on the town.

Feeling like your letting people down on the course to achieving your goals is a pretty miserable feeling. However by sharing your goals with your closest friends you allow them to have a greater understanding of your decisions and  to be less critical of  the sacrifices you may have to make to achieve your goals.

Reason 3 – Support over Sabotage

sometimes-a-hug-is-all-that-we-needI’m sure we have all come across the diet or goal saboteur on our journey.

The friend or grandparent who pushes food onto you. Who will insist on you taking one more piece of cake/scoop of icecream/sausage roll and has spent many years perfecting their guilt trip method to make the additional piece of cake/scoop of icecream/sausage roll absolutely unavoidable.

Or there’s the un-intentional (or maybe intentional) put-downer. The friend who every time you see them exclaims “Ohh your getting too muscular/too skinny, it doesn’t look right” or “Oh you were up at 5 am running? Yeah you look really tired.”  or “I think you’re doing too much. You’re going to burn out”.

Chances are the saboteurs aren’t intentionally trying to damage your motivation. It’s more likely that they purely lack the understanding of what you are trying to achieve and what is required to achieve it. Share your goals and action plans with them, grant them a clearer understanding of your current situation and encourage them to become goal supporters instead of goal saboteurs.

So after all of that the bottom line is this.

If you are serious about achieving your goals, share them! Making and achieving goals is hard enough as it is. You don’t have to go it alone.

Have a motivated day

Fiona xx

 

One response to “3 Key Reasons to Share Your Goals

  1. Pingback: That is a 2015 Coffee! Plus my intentions for the year. | Lifestyle by Fiona·

Leave a Reply

