Scrumptious Savoury Breakfast Muffins – Recipe!

I’m a big believer in the importance of breakfast. It kick starts your metabolism in the morning, stops you from overeating at your next meal and depending on what you eat it can set the tone of your nutrition for the day. Over the past year, after quitting sugar, I have unwittingly become quite a fussy breakfast eater (no cereal, no sugary spreads, no muesli!). Add to that having a busy schedule that doesn’t generally allow for a cooked breakfast, except on weekends, I find myself with a few set guidelines that my breakfast has to work in with.

Firstly it has got to be savoury, personally I find that if I have an even kind of sweet breakfast I crave sugar in the afternoon. Admittedly it’s not nearly as bad now as it was 6 months ago. I can enjoy a bowl of Pura Veda on occasion without too much harsh consequence, but while I was right in the middle of quitting sugar this was one thing I absolutely couldn’t budge on. Secondly it’s got to be fast, weekdays I don’t have time to poach eggs or cook bacon. I like to maximise my sleep time so getting up half an hour earlier to grill tomatoes, although delicious, doesn’t appeal to me. Thirdly it can’t involve reheating whole eggs, blegh. Finally, it’s got to be healthy. Like I mentioned above, what you have a breakfast sets the tone for the rest of your day. These savoury breakfast muffins have a good balance of carbohydrates, protein, healthy fats and are quite simply scrumptious! I like to bake a batch or two on the weekend and freeze them. That way I have enough to last me a few weeks and can grab one in the morning to zap in the microwave. The following is essentially just a base recipe so you can experiment and adapt it by adding different ingredients such as sundried tomatoes or bacon pieces.

Spinach and Feta Muffins

Spinach and Feta Gluten Free Muffins 

Ingredients:

3 cups              Gluten free self raising flour (sifted)

1tbsp                Parmesan cheese

2 cups              Finely chopped Spinach (defrosted and drained)

150 grams      Reduced fat feta (crumble into medium size pieces)

1 cup                Unsweetened Almond milk

2/3 cup             Melted coconut oil

3                        Whole Eggs

Method:

Preheat oven to 180’C. Coat tray with a small amount of coconut oil, otherwise line using muffin cases. Mix together in a bowl; flour, parmesan, spinach and feta. Whisk in a separate bowl; almond milk, coconut oil and eggs until well combined. A small tip here, make sure that the almond milk and the eggs are at room temperature when you combine them to ensure that the coconut oil does not harden. Add wet mix to dry and stir until just combined. Divide batter evenly into muffin tray and place into preheated oven for approximately 30 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. Allow muffins to stand in the tray for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool. Enjoy!

Fiona

Leave a Reply

